The Centurion of Love

(La version originale en français se trouve dans l’article précédent.)

Copyright © 2013 Benoît Racine (Text)

© Jack Cain 2015, (images)

Image01_IMG_3263

Benoit came to see me because he felt there were obstacles he wanted to resolve in his life and in his behavior. In cases like this, I usually conduct a regression into the past to find the cause and the origin of these obstacles. This time, as we moved into the past, the scenes that unfolded while we explored left us stunned. After the session, we talked about our experience and agreed that it was important to share this adventure with others.

In each regression session that I do, I begin with a period of progressive relaxation, followed by visiting a “safe place” – a spot chosen by the client where they feel safe, happy, surrounded by beauty, etc. Following that, we travel together into the past. In Benoît’s case, here is what I said to lead us there:

Jack: It is very good being in the environment of this safe place but now we need to move away toward other things that are in the subconscious part of the mind. We’re going to move back through the years, moving back in time and space, further and further back into the past, because we are looking for an event which is related to the obstacles that are present in Benoît’s life. The subconscious part knows very well which are the most important of these obstacles and then which scenes we need to visit in this life – or in another life – scenes that are important to understand, relive, simply being there once again. So – we move back and back into the past, the years roll by, the decades roll by. Further and further into the past. I have no idea where to go but your subconscious knows very well what place we need to visit today – September 18, 2013. Traveling and traveling on. Floating gently toward the past. Finally, we begin to slow down and then, one, two, three, we are there. What is the first thing that comes into your mind?

Benoît: I see a… it’s like black and red shapes, there’s no… it’s a void, I would say… It’s rather dark, there’s no… I don’t recognize any shapes, they are like clouds, or red mist on a black background, and sometimes little spots of light, that’s all…

J: But there seems to be movement, right?

B: Yes, there is movement – like clouds moving.

J: Just stay with that. We need to accept whatever is happening. We need to accept that it’s just a dark background with the color red over it. You said that there were also points of light. Maybe you could concentrate of the points of light to see if there’s something there or if you are led in that direction.

B: They’re higher up, above my head. It’s as if I’m in a box and there is a bit of light which is coming in from the cover above me, that’s what it’s like.

J: Just stay with that to see what’s going to happen with the light. Light clarifies, we want to light up the path…

B: It looks like I’m in a… I hear a horse, and now wheels. I’m in a crate on the back of a cart, I think. The roads are hard. It’s not comfortable in this crate.

J: So you’re moving along the road…

B: The horse is moving on. I am in a cart, in a crate on the back of a cart.

J: So it’s not comfortable, you’re shook up all the time.

B: Yes, and I hear children outside. It’s bizarre.

J: Is it dark inside?

B: Yes, and the lights that I’m seeing – that’s the cover which is bouncing up and letting daylight come in. It’s daytime outside.

J: Can you look at your body? How are you dressed?

B: Cotton clothing, brown, beige. I’d say clothing from the 1800s or something like that.

J: And on your feet? Do you have boots? Or nothing at all?

B: Black shoes – they’re pointed, attached with twine bindings. And striped stockings.

J: So you’re moving along the road…

B: Yes, we’re going up a hill. I’m scrunched into the bottom because we’re going up a hill. I don’t know what I’m doing here.

Oh, my hands are bound.

J: It’s just you there in the crate?

B: Yes, I don’t know what I’m doing here. I’m here. [Tone of resignation.] It’s not comfortable.

J: Now we need to jump ahead to the next important event in this situation. One, two, three. What’s happening now?

B: Somebody’s grabbing me to pull me out. A big guy. He’s rough.

J: I’m bound, my hands are bound behind me, yes, that’s it. I had my legs bound too – he’s freeing me from that as well. He takes me on his shoulder. He’s put a hood on my head. He doesn’t want me to see.

J: So he’s taking you somewhere?

B: Yes.

J: And you can’t see?

B: No, I’m just being carried on his shoulder. His body feels cold.

He’s just dumped me on a bench, outside. I’m trying to listen. He said, “What are we going to do with this one?”

J: They’re discussing what they’re going to do with you?

B: Yes, that’s it.

J: And you can understand the language they’re speaking?

B: Yes, it’s old French.

There’s two of them talking with each other. One of them says that I’m just another lunatic. He says that I’m just another lunatic and that’s all there is to it.

J: So they think you’re crazy?

B: Yes, he says I must be seven years old to be thinking like that.

J: I say to them, “Peace” “Love.” They tell me “be quiet.” I say to them again “Peace” and “Love.”

J: He’s not listening to you eh?

B: No. He even says, “Shut your mouth!”

They’re not hitting me. They’re just talking to me, shouting at me actually. The other one says, “Who are you?” He shouts at me, “Who are you?”

B: I tell him I’m just fine. I’m just fine with them. Then I say to them, “Understand.”

J: So, now we can move on to the next situation. What happens next?

[pause]

B: There is a woman running… She says to stop… She says, “Stop holding him.”

One of them says to her, “Get out of here woman.”

J: Who is this woman? Do you have a connection with her?

B: I don’t know. She must know me but I don’t know. She called me Romeo. And she says that her name is Gisele.

She tells me to not give up, others are coming… And also that they love me… Then she says, “They will respect you.”

J: What happens now?

B: They lead me away. I have to walk and the big guy is pushing me, pushing me with my hood on to where he wants me to go. Then he takes me on his shoulder again. [chuckle]

J: So once again you’re being taken somewhere…

B: To a dungeon… They’re just closing the grating. He takes off the bands from my eyes. There are bales of hay scattered around that we are sitting on. There are bars.

[pause]

There are others here too. They all are wearing crosses. So am I.

They’re oppressed people, we are oppressed. And the guards have helmets on their heads – metallic, with something like a brush on top, like the Romans.

[Here it gradually becomes clear that we have just jumped to another time; this happens easily sometimes in past life regression sessions. And now Benoît has a different name.]

J: All these people, they’re part of…

B: They are Romans; they’ve put me in prison, with others. Some of them recognize me… André, and Jacques.

J: So it’s a Roman prison is that it?

B: Yes

[pause]

A big guy says, “You are going to be judged.” They say to me “You don’t mess with Caesar.”

I’m not wearing the same clothes I had before.

J: What are you wearing now?

B: A big robe.

Someone says to me, “Pierre, hang in there.”

[pause]

There are little windows like portholes in the prison, and there are children looking in at us. The windows are high up. There are children looking at us.

J: So they are curious probably?

B: Some of them stick their hands in; they want me to touch them. So I touch them.

I say to them, “Be love.” I tell them to follow their path.

The others with me are calm. They are waiting.

J: How many people are there with you?

B: Two. But not in the same cubicle as me. We’re all separated.

J: Do you stay there long? What happens next?

B: There is activity outside. They’re thinking about moving us out of here before long.

One of them is having fun banging a mess tin across the bars to upset us. I look at him with a big smile, with compassion in my eyes.

One of the guards seems to not know why he is there. When I look at him, he becomes quiet. He asks me why I am here. And I reply that I have too much love inside. I ask him who he is. He replies, “Balthazar.”

Then I tell him that there is room for love in life. To be patient, that it will come.

One of the two prisoners says to me, “Master, what are you doing?”

I say to him, “Every seed seeks its own ground. And that one is fertile ground.”

Peace is built… one soul at a time.

The guard Balthazar approaches. He speaks in my ear. He says, “I know that you are one.”

He leads us out.

J: All three of you?

B: Yes.

He takes us in front of a… a tall man. I don’t know what he is… He’s wearing a strange apron-like thing, a long belt. I can’t really describe it, a short decorated skirt [laughs] – a helmet that’s ugly. His hat goes up to a point; he’s wearing a bunch of bracelets … leather ones. He has a whip in his hand. [Explanation following the session: he looks like an executioner because he also has a black hood but with his face still showing.]

He asks, “What is this sign?” [A cross on the neck.]

I tell him it’s the sign of love. Love of one’s neighbor. The sign of his own love. And I call him brother. He says, “Why do you address me like that?” He jokes with the others, comparing his gigantic body with my fragile body, saying that we couldn’t be brothers.

I tell him that it’s brotherly love that counts. We are all brothers one with another. This is a choice you make being here, and a choice for me as well, being where I am. It’s up to us to decide where we are. You say of me that I am not free; but you – what have you done with your freedom. I tell him that.

Who do you feed in doing what it is that you are doing? Your family or the one who gives you orders?

He says that I ought to think about keeping quiet… if I don’t want to catch a blow from his whip.

I tell him that his whip cannot reach my heart in any case… that using it will not give him his freedom. It will just close him up more completely in his dependency.

Then I tell him to choose to be free… just as it’s up to each one to choose to be free… in the love of one’s neighbor. Because without my neighbor I am nothing… and my neighbor, without me, is nothing.

In my eyes he is big… but not because he is dressed the way he is dressed or because his is playing the role that he is playing… but because he has a heart.

[Pause in which the executioner leaves and the head of the prison comes on the scene.]

Image02_IMG_3450I tell him that his son will be born.

He asks me how I know that.

I reply that under his suit of armor, there is a man’s heart beating – and that all our hearts are connected.

I say to him, “Go, your son is being born.”

A centurion arrives running… He advises the head of the prison of the birth.

The head of the prison has just ordered us back in the prison, so he has the time to run and see his wife. [laughs]

As he leaves I see that he is crying.

After he leaves I say to my disciples that Josua will be born. The other centurions hear me say that.

The one who came to me to say he knew who I was – Balthazar – leads me back in without roughing me up… which is not the case with the two others. The other centurions ask Balthazar, “Who is he?” He replies, “I don’t know, but he’s somebody.”

A woman comes asking for the centurion who brought me in and who has now left – Balthazar. She asks me where he is.

I reply, “I don’t know; he went away… perhaps to see his master. I don’t know.”

[Pause in which Balthazar returns from the home of his master, the head of the prison]

Balthazar returns saying that his master has a son. Then he asks me how I knew that he would be called Josua. I say to him, “Because everything is written… and that we are here to choose. The only choice that is up to us is the choice of love. Or not.”

He asks me again the meaning of the cross.

So I reply to him that it means love of one’s neighbor. That it symbolizes the coming of a master… who taught us new ways of thinking… who brought change… who converted “an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth” into “love one another”… so that we recognize one another, rather than knowing each other. Because we don’t know anything in any case! That life is only about recognizing one’s neighbor… and recognizing oneself, in order to stop knowing… This is what the master told us. And the master is not a master. He is the light… the light of freedom… which we all have.

I ask him if he wants his freedom, if he wants to welcome it… or if it’s fear, from the evil one who controls him, if he’s given away to someone else the most important thing in himself, love of oneself… in exchange for a mouthful of bread.

And I say to him, “Take a look around you – look at life – it lives without you busying yourself about it. Who do you think you are? Be yourself. Be who you are… in the love of your neighbor.

I can’t stop preaching.

Fear stops men from loving because they have given away their power to live their own lives.

The centurion who is head of the prison comes back. [chuckle] He brings the baby with him. The child is calm. The head of the prison is crying and he asks me who I am. “How did you know that my wife would call the child Josua?” I reply that it’s because it’s the child who has chosen. And it’s he who told me the name before he was born. Just as he would have told it to you if you would have listened! Because each of us chooses our own name. The one God has assigned to us for our mission.

Josua is going to love you. He will teach you to love. He is small but much more powerful than you are. Because he loves you unconditionally.

Observe the children. Through our education they become ourselves. They have freedom in them. They don’t even know that submission exists. The period that you call “Innocence,” I call: “Awakening.” The period that you call “Consciousness” I call: “Loss of Life.” I invite you to find it again.

I ask him if he is happy with his wife.

He asks me why I am asking this question.

I reply saying that she is waiting for him and waiting for the baby… that she needs him. That he must place his hand on her stomach to relieve her belly from the pain that is there. This miracle – he has it in his own hands.

He asks me how I know that.

And I reply to him that it’s because I don’t know it that I know it.

And I add that he should listen to his heart because she is waiting for him.

He doesn’t understand. His mouth is agape.

I say to him… “Go, your child is blessed in any case.” He doesn’t understand the word “blessed.”

I say to him, “In three months, you will look at his smile and you will understand the meaning of the word. Because he carries your life on his shoulders, that’s what that child does. He knows what that means.”

[pause]

There is an army coming in, moving into the village. They shove everyone around. The centurions leave. The head of the prison runs with his child. And the others ask what they should do. [chuckle] He gives the child to the youngest centurion, Balthazar. Then the head of the prison moves off, telling Balthazar to take his child to his wife.

They are setting fire to everything. They are all dressed in black. We can see them through the bars of the prison. They are attacking just one side of the village – the one opposite the prison. They are destroying everything – except for the middle of the village. There are very many of them there outside. They are breaking down barricades; they are gutting the village. They assemble the people in the middle. They come and get me. There are armies, centurions everywhere. One of them pulls out a scroll with big letters, a papyrus. They say that the kingdom has fallen. Then, they say that a new order is being established – that the past has been swept away. And that others will come to reconstruct. All that you’ve seen here is not violence. It’s replacing things for the new order. It’s rooting out evil so that good can take its place.

But all this is very strange because they don’t speak of love – they are just speaking of peace, not of love. Everyone is afraid and they pretend to reassure everyone. They are liars.

They give black clothing to the head of the prison to replace what he is wearing. They tell him that his master is no more. He asks, “Who am I to serve, if I no longer serve my master? They say to him, “Look after yourself.” And “Join us – so that peace will reign.” But they are not speaking of love. They don’t understand.

The centurion who is head of the prison accepts because he has to and out of fear. It’s a false peace. They are liars.

Image03_IMG_3350The headman in black, the head of the army that has attacked the village, enters the prison. He pulls on my cross. He rips it off violently. Then he says to me, “That’s not how we’re going to bring peace.”

I say to him, “That’s not how we’re going to bring love. Because peace cannot radiate fear; peace cannot radiate power.”

He gives my face a good whack.

I turn the other cheek, saying to him, “What do you expect from me? Do you expect me to be afraid?”

He says that I’m going to disappear like others of my kind.

I say to him, “Is that what you call peace?” I am laughing in his face.

I ask him if he wants to be free for the first time in his life. I ask him who his master is. I don’t manage to catch the name. The name ends in “us.” I don’t get it. So I say, “Never mind your master’s name, what is yours?”

He replies, “Marius.”

I say, “Don’t you think that your master should be called, ‘Marius’?”

He says that he doesn’t have a talent for managing all the troupes.

I say to him, “Who’s talking about managing troupes. I’m speaking of freedom – possible in love, not in fear.”

He gives me a whack on the other cheek.

I reply, “Love to you. Freedom is the hardest thing to take on. I understand.” This is what I say to him.

Then I ask him where he has left those he loves.

He replies that he has no one to love!

I say to him that he needs to begin to see, to stop being blind. But that it is not done with the eyes.

He asks me what it is that I’m saying, whether I’m raving or what.

I say to him, “Go out. Tell me if the tears and the crying that you see are from the peace.”

He goes to see. [laughs]

[Here the head of the army leaves and does not reappear on the scene.]

Image04_IMG_3320The head of the prison comes back wearing his black clothing. I ask him why he is dressed like that. I say to him, “Go find your wife, ask her if she recognizes you. Ask your child if he recognizes you.”

He shouts at me to be quiet.

I ask him if I have shouted too loudly… or if it’s what is inside him that has shouted too loudly.

He replies, “What do you want of me, master?”

I reply that I am not his master. That no one is master of someone else. Because his freedom is to be found in love, love of his wife and also of his child. I invite him to go looking for it there. And then to build his identity in his heart instead of in his clothing.

[pause]

Before he leaves, I ask him, “What do you plan to do with us now?”

He replies, “It’s clear that you are not very, very dangerous. I am setting you free.”

I reply that I was free even before he freed me, and that he is too. I have freedom in me and he has it in him.

What needs to be worked is not stone, nor wood, nor metal, but one’s heart. And to make an example of it.

He invites us to leave the village… while they wait for other troops to arrive to rebuild the village.

I thank him saying that he needs to take the time to rebuild his heart and his family… because that can be rebuilt only once, unlike a house that can be rebuilt again and again.

He accompanies us on our way. We pass by his home. His wife is standing there. He is astonished because she was not well a while ago. She no longer has pain in her belly. He wonders what has happened. I reply that she knows what has happened. And that the heart’s reason is something she carries within her. Her work is to transmit that to her husband and to her child. I explain to him that the person who is doing the most building is she. That it is she who has the plans for the future… because she is one who is carrying love… not fear. Because peace is an illusion if love is not there.

When his child will reach the age of seven… he will leave. Because he will have understood the heart’s value. Because what he is going to build will be greater. And instilled into the hearts of all those whom he meets. That the depth of his soul is already there in his gaze. Let him be, so that he can guide their steps. Truth is already there in  him… as in all those of his age.

The two other prisoners decide to follow me. We leave. One of the two has a somewhat frightened face. I ask him what he is afraid of.

He replies, “Of the unknown.

I tell him that he is afraid of something that doesn’t exist… knowledge is everywhere. The unknown is an illusion. Stop believing in this nonsense. And to continue to walk the path of love. That love can accomplish all things. Even free those in chains. Because the chains have bigger links, links that are attached to the heart.

He lifts up his head. He has a sense of humor, as he asks what is needed to go on. [chuckle]

I give him a hug, then tell him that we are going to find our wives… because they are bearers of the future.

[pause]

Image05_IMG_3415The place we are going to is beautiful. Nature is beautiful [whispered because the visual impression is so strong emotionally]. There is abundance. Many fig trees, orange trees. The further we look, the further the forest extends. More and more, nature is taking her place. And behind us the structures are fragile. They will fall down once again.

There are people who leave the village to move toward the forest which is enlarging. But not everyone. Very few. And those who leave have no baggage. They follow us without following us. [whispered] They have simply understood. The centurion Balthazar who whispered in my ear is there. [chuckle] But the other centurion, the head of the prison, stays in the village with his wife and his child. I believe that they will remain there for seven years before leaving. That is how it has been told; that is how it is turning out.

[pause]

Balthazar calls me master. And I say to him that he doesn’t need to. All he needs to do is to connect to his heart and to his soul… to stop believing in time, to stop believing in space, and to believe in his soul. To find a wife. And to savor the present. I explain that “present” means “gift.” And that inside himself he knows that. All we have to do is to respect one other. To recognize one another. And to stop wanting to know… because everything is there. We have only to ask. He understands. Not with his head – with his heart. He says to me, “Peace to you.” And I say to him, “Peace to you, and in love.”

I say to him, “Go. Help the teachings. Live them. Stop talking in fact. Do! Do what your heart tells you to do. I’ll be doing the same! Life holds moments when we will meet again… God is great. He knows what should be done.

In the forest, there are women waiting for us – our wives. And the children. Love is good. All is in abundance. Including the depth of the gaze in those we love.

The forest continues to expand. Animals multiply. Recognition is in the process of taking its place. Gratitude comes to be the state of the soul. Smiles take their place.

The forest is waiting for people to choose freedom so that it can expand. God expects that we will choose. As a good father. Before taking his place. He has the patience of love.

I look at my wife. I take her in my arms. We embrace in a love without bounds. The love of a man and woman… who become one.

It is in this example that the children grow up. And they teach us how to love.

It is beautiful where we are. We listen to the underground water, to water on the surface, to the greenery, to the birds, to all of life that is wanting to live. Abundance is doing its chores.

We accumulate nothing. We live.

Each thing that we do we take responsibility for. We are conscious. We make the moves we need to make. No more, no less. This is our happiness.

When our children will be seven, the village will expand – it is going to merge with nature. It is going to integrate into nature. It is going to take the place to which it belongs. The men in black are no longer in black. Love is patient. All is well.

Image06_IMG_3423

The children play with balls of light that they create between their hands. What they imagine becomes real.

[pause]

It is as if all the adults are thirty years old.

There is nothing tall. The tallest things are the trees.

Things get done fast, really fast. Everyone lends a hand and it’s done!

Very little is said. Lots of exchange of looks. Much affection; much tenderness. [whispered] And respect.

[pause]

We feel an energy in our bodies.

[pause]

We can feel each one of the cells taking its place. Assuming its role in the consciousness of the other cells. Each cell becomes responsible for itself, while conscious of the other cells. Each cell sends out its light so that each cell can emanate. A golden light. White and gold. With little tints of mauve. It’s beautiful.

The children emanate a white light. The adults are in the process of learning how.

[pause]

Abundance takes its place in the body, in the thoughts. Talents come to life in the beings. Each body comes to life, according to what it has received.

[pause]

Life is simple; as are the people.

[pause]

We move back into action. The men leave to look for other hearts… further away… so the forest can enlarge.

[pause]

[Benoît yawns; his body begins to move and adjust]

[I bring the session to a close]

Image07_IMG_3429

About trylus

Welcome to my blog! I was born in the year of the golden dragon (1940) and when the golden dragon year came around again in 2000, little did I know that events would conspire to have me reinvent myself. So after a long career in computers and libraries and languages and with a few bumps of transition I now feel very alive in the practice of hypnotherapy and an energy modality called Reconnective Healing®. My interest in writing has always been in the mystery of how it is sometimes possible to convey much more than the meaning of the words. It is my heartfelt wish to have that happen sometimes in this blog. Jack Cain Trylus énergétique Montréal www.trylus.com jack@trylus.com
This entry was posted in Hypnosis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Centurion of Love

  1. Jodie Pullen Wright says:

    Thank you Jack and Benoit ~ Namaste Smiles

  2. Mateusz says:

    A suitable title.

Leave a Reply

